Business x Economics Ball

Leave a comment Standard

Hey there again,

Last Friday, I had my first ball! It was exciting and I had a lot of fun!

Formals and balls are apparently a big thing in Durham. There is one happening all of the time. The dress code depends on the event. Balls, the fanciest, will usually require a black tie attire. So ladies, bring your gowns; and boys, take your suits!

We had planned to go to this ball a month in advance. We reserved, ordered our menus, got all payments straight. After one month of impatience, the day finally came.

After getting high heels from New Look – yes, they actually do the trick- , hair straightened at Enzo’s and meeting up with my friend, I headed back home with her to get ready. Prep took quite a while, I admit…

At 7PM, we are all headed to the Radisson Blu Hotel. Beautiful place! We head in and see a red carpet leading to a big reception room. Our coats are taken and placed on hangers. We finally move to the table for a cup of champagne and wander around, taking pictures. It’s lovely to see everyone in their beautiful suits and dresses. Some wearing mask for the occasion. Did I mention it was a masquerade ball?

Soon enough, we swiftly pass on to another room, across which round tables are spread. The room is of a dark blue light, the tables decorated with golden and silver confettis, tall glasses ready to be filled with wine… There it is, table #15! We all sit down and the meal begins! Oh and the bread… I have to ask them where they get their bread from! I had no shame asking our server if they had any bread left in the kitchen.

The meal, quite nice: soup, followed my chicken and veggies, finishing with panna cotta. It’s wonderful, sharing a meal with your friends, all dressed up, laughing and chatting after having anticipated this evening for a long time.

Once the meal was over, we had a live jazz band playing for a while. Great music! Everyone went on the dancefloor and started dancing. They smoothely switched between music genres all along the night.

The night ended with everyone satisfied. I was glad to have gone to this event!

Leave a comment